Board Members

Members of the Rottnest Island Authority are appointed to oversee the management and control of Rottnest Island.

The Board of the Rottnest Island Authority consists of a Chair, appointed by the Governor on the nomination of the Minister for Tourism, and five other members appointed in the same manner. Members are appointed so that not less than one member is:
  • A person experienced in conserving the environment
  • A person experienced in preserving buildings of historic value
  • A person with sound commercial experience, and
  • A person who is a regular user of the Island for recreational purposes
  • Members are appointed for a term not exceeding three years, but from time to time, may be re-appointed. The Minister also appoints a member to be Deputy Chairman.

Meet the team

Select a profile for more information

John Langoulant

Chairman - John Langoulant

Appointment expires 30 June 2020
Mr John Langoulant has extensive executive experience in the private and public sectors including as the Western Australian Under Treasurer, Chief Executive Officer with Australian Capital Equity, the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Western Australia and the Oakajee Port and Rail project. John currently is Board Chairman at the Government Employees Superannuation Board, the Northern Territory’s Power and Water Corporation, Westpac Banking Group WA, Pawsey Supercomputer Centre and the Dampier to Bunbury Gas Pipeline. John has recently been appointed Chair Designate of Infrastructure WA. John is a Director of The National Disability Insurance Agency, Amana Living and the Multinet Board. John also holds chair positions with, Telethon Kids Institute, CEDA WA, and The Lester (formerly ARTrinsic).

Dr Marina Hogan

Member - Marina Hogan

Appointment Expires 31 December 2019
Dr Marina Hogan was appointed in January 2017. Through her long association with both Scoop Publishing and Scoop Digital, Marina has extensive experience in marketing services, both print and digital, particularly in the areas of travel and lifestyle, events and the arts. She teaches part-time in the School of Humanities at The University of Western Australia. Marina is deputy chair of the Foundation for the Western Australian Museum and chairs its Remuneration and Nominations Committee. In June 2018, Marina was appointed to the Australian Multicultural Advisory Council. Until July 2018, Marina sat on the board of North Metropolitan TAFE where she was a member of the Governance Committee and the Nominations Committee and, until early 2017, she chaired the board of Subiaco Primary School.

Hannah Fitzhardinge

Member - Hannah Fitzhardinge

Appointment expires 30 June 2020
Ms Hannah Fitzhardinge was appointed in October 2017. Hannah is a director and senior consultant with leadership development consultancy Integral Development. Her background is in corporate public affairs, government approvals and strategic communication. Hannah was elected as a Councillor at the City of Fremantle in 2016, then again in 2017 for a further four-year term. Joining the Rottnest Island Board in October 2017, Hannah has also previously served on the boards of the Beehive Montessori School and ARTRAGE. Her family has a long connection with Rottnest and she cares deeply about equality, environmental responsibility and sustainable development.

Hamish Beck

Deputy Chairman – Hamish Beck

Appointment expires 28 Feb 2022
Mr Hamish Beck was appointed Member and Deputy Chairman in March 2016. He is Principal/Managing Director of Beck Advisory, a development advisory and asset management business. His involvement with the property industry spans over 25 years with substantial experience in tourism development, commercial development and asset management of commercial buildings. Hamish is also Chairperson of the Swan River Trust, Deputy Chairman of the Historic Heart of Perth, Member of the Western Australian Maritime Museum Advisory Committee, and Member of the Central Perth Planning Committee.